She’s Mom Incorporated! Rebecca Buscemi, The Savvy Women’s Business Solution

Meet Rebecca Buscemi of The Savvy Women’s Business Solution. She is the host of our book tour in Baltimore on Oct. 7.

Mom Incorporated: Why did you decide to start a virtual assistance business as opposed to something else?
Rebecca: As the country was facing financial difficulty, so was this bedridden, 8-month-pregnant mama. I decided to look into what I could do while at home with my newborn and 2-year-old. I discovered virtual assistance and decided it was a perfect fit for me. I couldn’t bear the thought of returning to work out of the house after I had made the decision more than a year ago to stay at home with my family.

Mom Incorporated: What services specifically do you offer your clients? Which are the services you started with and what services did you offer over time?
Rebecca: When I initially launched my business, I offered virtual assistance to nonprofits, health care and education professionals. The services I offered were basic administrative services. At the time I was launching my initial business, Creative Virtual Office, I was focusing on the areas that I worked in previously. My undergrad was in early childhood administration.

This was the same time that social networking and social media were gaining popularity. I used these social networks to my advantage and solely marketed my business online, because it was free. While networking, I ran across other women that were just like me, mom entrepreneurs. I was becoming more and more involved with this group and was gaining more clients because of my networking and marketing efforts. My business began to evolve to a social media and internet marketing company that also offers virtual business management. I renamed my business The Savvy Women’s Business Solution in February 2010. I now offer less traditional administrative services and more services that focus on marketing and management.

Mom Incorporated: How did you go about finding your first client? How about subsequent clients?
Rebecca: I have found all of my clients through social media sites and word-of-mouth from other clients. Social media has been a very powerful marketing tool for me and also has been free. I have found that by providing relevant information that others want to know about, I am gaining their trust. Many of these people have become clients.

Mom Incorporated: What kinds of costs did you incur setting up your business, if any? What tools, resources, equipment, sites, etc. do you use daily to do your work?
Rebecca: The basic costs to start my business included obtaining my business license, registering my business with the state and joining the International Virtual Assistant Association. I already had all of the basic equipment that I needed, such as a PC, three-in-one printer, fax and scanner. On a daily basis I use Freshbooks to track my time, expenses and to invoice clients; Deskaway for project management; Hootsuite for streamlining and tracking my social media; Sproutsocial for online reputation and brand management; and Google for email and file/document hosting.

Mom Incorporated: Fill in this blank:
Rebecca: If you hate being delegated to, you shouldn’t be a virtual assistant.

Mom Incorporated: Fill in this blank:
Rebecca: If you are good at handling last-minute projects and being a self-starter, you could consider being a virtual assistant.

Rebecca Buscemi of The Savvy Women’s Business Solution is the host of our book tour in Baltimore on Oct. 7.

Leave a Reply

