She’s Mom Incorporated! Meet Mommy Niri

Mommy Niri

Blogger Nirasha Jaganath, who goes by the name of Mommy Niri, is hosting our book tour  at the Melting Pot in Bedford, Mass., on Wednesday, Oct. 5. Join us at 213 Burlington Rd. for a sampling of complimentary cheese and chocolate fondues. 

We asked Mommy Niri to give us the scoop on her blogging adventures:

Mom Incorporated: What made you start Mommy Niri — what’s your vision?
Niri: It was on a whim, or more like a bet my husband had since I was dying for a Flip camera and he was insistent that it was unnecessary (and had a valid point with an expensive one collecting dust in the cupboard). He tried to strike a deal that I start a blog for the camera. Once that suggestion was vetoed on the basis of “no one tells me what to do!” I bought the camera and then decided to blog. It was basically my lazy idea of scrapbooking.

I once wrote a post on “What not to say to a SAHM” and was shocked that I actually had readers. Now I feel it is an incentive for me to keep up with the latest and greatest. I am incredibly humbled by my readers and feel it my obligation to make sure I honor their time.

Mom Incorporated: What keeps you going?
Niri:  Seeing the influence [of the blog] and the power to make a difference is overwhelming and thrilling at the same time. When I spoke about my daughter’s autism, I was surprised by the response. Even reviews seem to impact readers; as they trust my opinion, which makes it more vital to me to be honest. Launching Mommy Niri Cares helped me focus on using social influence for social good.

Mom Incorporated: How did your blog expand into speaking engagements?
Niri: That was a coincidence. Being invited to be a speaker in 2009, I realized that peers feel more connected, and several bloggers are looking for mentors. It is a very a humbling experience for someone to come up to you face-to-face and praise you. Sharing in this sphere is also something that you realize makes us grow as a community.

Mom Incorporated: What are the biggest challenges of being a blogger, and how do you overcome them?
Niri: The biggest challenge is trying to grow a thick skin — and I have not yet been able to. Whether it be from readers or peers or brands that do something to irk you, and you want not to feel. It is then that I realize feeling is exactly what we need. Because feeling is part of the process and journey, and taking everyone with us in this journey through our writing. If we want positive thoughts and actions, it starts with us.

Mom Incorporated: What are the most enjoyable parts of what you do?
Niri: Truthfully, any blogging activity I get to do with my family is the best. Sharing my world with my family and opening their world to new avenues make it all worth it.

Mom Incorporated: Do you want to monetize your blog?
Niri: Yes and no. While I do earn through some campaigns, I look at that as ways to be part of what is going on in the community. My aim is to write for my readers and build my own brand. If that opens doors to opportunities, financed or otherwise, I would certainly be ready to take a look.

Mom Incorporated: What advice do you have for would-be bloggers?
Niri: Just do it. You will make mistakes, compromises, etc. But do it,  and own it. It does not matter how long you have been doing it but how well you do it. Don’t ever assume that it is a fast and easy way to land gigs. Like everywhere else, hard work and good work ethics will rule the day.

Nirasha Jaganath, popularly known as blogger Mommy Niri, will serve as host of our book tour  at the Melting Pot, 213 Burlington Rd. in Bedford, Mass., on Wednesday, Oct. 5.

2 thoughts on “She’s Mom Incorporated! Meet Mommy Niri

  1. Nirl, we need to connect! So great to see people in our backyard doing this kind of work. I grew a home based business 10 years ago so I could be home with the kids and now I am blogging about that and other interests.

    Great reading about what you have created!!!!

Leave a Reply

